2017 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

For printable Acrobat PDF click here

In 2017, for our sixty-eighth competition, the trustees of the Gravity Research Foundation are offering five awards for short essays for the purpose of stimulating thought and encouraging work on gravitation. The stipulations follow.

  1. We will make these Awards on May 15, 2017 for the best well-written essays, 1500 words or fewer (excluding abstracts & excluding a small number of equations, diagrams, figures, references and tables), on the subject of gravitation, its theory, applications, or effects. Essay ideas should be self-contained & understandable - not dependent on reading other documents.
  2. The First Award will be $4000.00
    The Second Award will be $1250.00
    The Third Award will be $1000.00
    The Fourth Award will be $750.00
    The Fifth Award will be $500.00
  3. Essay must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2017. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us within 24 hours if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation of your submission.
  4. Title page should include essay title; authors’ names (specify corresponding author), e-mail & mailing addresses; submission date; an abstract of 125 words or fewer; and the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2017 Awards for Essays on Gravitation.” Pages should be numbered.
  5. The decision of the judges will be final and no reviews or comments will be provided.
  6. Please check the winners’ announcement here around May 15, 2017. We will also attempt to send all participants a general e-mail notification.
  7. The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication. Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th.

Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President (grideoutjr@aol.com)

Recent First Award Winners:
2016 – Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey
2015 – Gerard ’t Hooft, Utrecht University & Spinoza Institute, the Netherlands
2014 – Lawrence M. Krauss, Arizona State University & Frank Wilczek, Massachusetts
              Institute of Technology (MIT)
2013 – Baocheng Zhang, Qing-yu Cai, Ming-sheng Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 
             Wuhan and Li You,Tsinghua University, Bejing, PR China
2012 – Claus Kiefer & Manuel Krämer, University of Cologne, Köln, Germany
2011 – Ivan Agullo, Penn State & Leonard Parker, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2010 – Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 – S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of
             California at Santa Barbara & Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London & D. V. Nanopoulos, 
              Texas A&M University
2004 – Maulik Parikh, Columbia University, New York
2003 – Martin Bojowald, The Pennsylvania State University
2002 – Steven B. Giddings, University of California at Santa Barbara & Stanford University
2001 – Csaba Csáki & Joshua Erlich, Los Alamos National Lab & Christophe Grojean, 
             University of California at Berkeley
2000 – Arthur Lue & Erick J. Weinberg, Columbia University, New York