

GRAVITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION

PO BOX 81389 WELLESLEY HILLS MA 02481-0004

USA

2024 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

In 2024, for our seventy-fifth competition, the trustees of the Gravity Research Foundation are offering five awards for short essays for stimulating thought and encouraging work on the phenomenon of gravitation. The stipulations follow:

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2024, for the best and most well-written essays about gravitation, its theory, applications, or effects. Essays must be 10 pages or fewer using double-spacing, single column, 12-point font and 1-inch margins including a small number of diagrams, tables, and equations. Title and reference pages are additional and not included in the page count. The subject matter may or may not be original research. The essay competition is not intended to replace a research journal where the detailed results of original research are submitted. Essays should not give lengthy detailed mathematical calculations nor detailed descriptions of an experimental setup. Essay ideas should be self- contained and understandable - not dependent on reading other documents.

(2)	The First Award will be	\$4000.00	
	The Second Award will be	\$700.00	
	The Third Award will be	\$600.00	
	The Fourth Award will be	\$500.00	
	The Fifth Award will be	\$400.00	

- (3) Essay must be typed in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file by March 31, 2024. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us within 24 hours if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation of your submission.
- (4) Title page should include all the following: essay title, authors' names (specify corresponding author), e-mail and mailing addresses, submission date, an abstract of 125 words or fewer, and the statement: "Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2024 Awards for Essays on Gravitation." Pages should be numbered.
- (5) The decision of the judges will be final. No reviews or comments will be provided.
- (6) Contestants can find the awards announcement posted on our website: gravityresearchfoundation.org around May 15, 2024.
- (7) The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication. Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th.

Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President, grideoutjr@aol.com

Recent First Award Winners:

- 2023 Maciej Dunajski, University of Cambridge, UK
- 2022 Cenalo Vaz, University of Cincinnati, OH
- 2021 Samir D. Mathur, The Ohio State University, OH
- 2020 Maulik Parikh and George Zahariade, Arizona State University, AZ and Frank Wilczek, Arizona State University, AZ, Stockholm University, Sweden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA and Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
- 2019 Alessio Belenchia, Queen's University, England; Robert M. Wald, Enrico Fermi Institute, IL; Flaminia Giacomini, Esteban Castro-Ruiz, Časlav Brukner and Markus Aspelmeyer, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austria
- 2018 Jessica Santiago and Matt Visser, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
- 2017 Ivan Agullo, Louisiana State University, LA; Adrian del Rio and Jose Navarro-Salas, Centro Mixto Universidad de Valencia-CSIC, Spain
- 2016 Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, NJ
- 2015 Gerard 't Hooft, Utrecht University and Spinoza Institute, the Netherlands
- 2014 Lawrence M. Krauss, Arizona State University, AZ and Frank Wilczek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
- 2013 Baocheng Zhang, Qing-yu Cai and Ming-sheng Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China and Li You, Tsinghua University, China
- 2012 Claus Kiefer and Manuel Krämer, University of Cologne, Germany
- 2011 Ivan Agullo, Pennsylvania State University, PA and Leonard Parker, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, WI
- 2010 Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, BC
- 2009 Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia